Mandalika Round 2: Toprak dominates, Bautista finishes / World Superbike Championship

While Toprak Razgatlioglu (Yamaha) celebrated a flawless triple victory at the Superbike meeting at the Mandalika circuit, Álvaro Bautista (Ducati) brought the world title in the towel.

The first race of the 2022 World Supersport Championship at the Mandalika Street Circuit was held in sultry and hot weather. When the race started at 13:30 local time, the thermometer showed 36 degrees Celsius, the tarmac heated up to over 60 degrees Celsius.

Toprak Razgatlioglu (Yamaha), Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki) and Andrea Locatelli (Yamaha) made up the front row of the grid for the second round of the 2022 Superbike World Championship. Álvaro Bautista (Ducati) started the race from fourth position, next to the championship leader Axel Bassani (Ducati) and Scott Redding (BMW) they were on row 2. After Iker Lecuona (Honda) and Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki) came the Superpole -Race, Philipp Öttl (Ducati) also declared a third entrant unfit to race – presumably as a result of his crash in the first race on Saturday.

After Álvaro Bautista missed out on the podium in the Superpole race, the Ducati star needed a second place finish in the second race to become the 2022 Superbike world champion soon at the eleventh meeting of the season.

Rea initially set the pace at the front, but Razgatlioglu took the lead on lap 6. Shortly afterwards, the Northern Irishman had to concede defeat to Bautista and the strong raider Bassani as well.

From that point on, the Yamaha star dictated what happened at the front, Bautista following the Turk like a shadow. In the last third of the race, the Spaniard also wanted to win and took the lead several times, but Razgatlioglu always had an answer and even built up a lead in the closing stages. The 25-year-old ended up winning the third race, while Bautista secured the world championship in second place. Rea completed the podium in third place.

Axel Bassani (Ducati) had a strong result in fifth, the Italian the best privateer in the 2022 Superbike World Championship since the Superpole race.

BMW celebrated Scott Redding’s 6th place, while his brand colleagues missed out on the top 12. The best Honda rider was Xavi Vierge in seventh position.

This is how the race went:

Start: Razgatlioglu ahead of Rea, Bautista and Locatelli in the first corner. But the Yamaha star is a little late on the brakes and loses the lead to Reo.

Round 1: Rea ahead of Razgatlioglu, Locatelli and Bautista. Also Redding, Bassani, Lowes and Vierge. Rinaldi off track and only 14th.

Lap 2: The top 4 are 1.9 seconds ahead of Bassani (5th) and Lowes (6th). Redding in 8th Fastest lap Locatelli (3rd) in 1:33.231 min.

Lap 3: Bassani (5th) nears the top with a fastest lap of 1:32.974 min. Rinaldi the twelfth.

Lap 4: Bautista ahead of Locatelli in 3rd place Bassani (5th) was able to catch him. Lowes (5th) already 2.2 seconds behind.

Lap 5: Locatelli misses the line and loses 4th place to Bassani.

Lap 6: Razgatlioglu gets serious and takes the lead. Bassani puts pressure on Bautista (3rd). Rinaldi entered the top 10.

Lap 7: Razgatlioglu picks up the pace and Bautista passes Rea for second. Vierge passed Lowes for 6th.

Lap 8: Razgatlioglu 0.5s ahead of Bautista and Bassani who also overtook Rea.

Lap 9: Razgatlioglu and Bautista slightly ahead, Bassani, Rea and Locatelli fighting for 3rd – Lowes, Redding and Rinaldi for 8th.

Lap 10: Rea pushing for Bassani. Vierge and Gerloff are fighting for position 6.

Lap 11: Rea third again and 1.5s behind Razgatlioglu and Bautista. Autumn Nozane.

Lap 12: Bassani slows down significantly and threatens to lose 4th place to Locatelli. Gerloff lost 3 seconds and dropped back to 10th.

Lap 13: Rea is now faster than the leader and closing again!

Lap 14: Bautista leads Razgatlioglu – Razgatlioglu appears to have a tire problem. Fall Smith.

Lap 15: Bautista and Razgatlioglu pass each other several times, but the Spaniard remains in front. Rea is only 0.6 seconds behind and is waiting for a chance.

Round 16: Razgatlioglu ahead of Bautista again. Bassani and Locatelli are fighting for 4th place, Gerloff ahead of Rinaldi for 10th place.

Lap 17: Razgatlioglu set the fastest race lap of 1:32.846, 0.5 seconds ahead of Bautista and 1.2 seconds ahead of Rea. King finished 15th in points.

Round 18: Razgatlioglu aims for the decision in 1:32.708 min. Redding arrived in 6th place – he can’t go any further on his own.

Lap 19: Razgatlioglu 1.5s ahead of Bautista and Rea.

Round 20: The top 3 are no longer directly fighting for positions. Locatelli ahead of Bassani in 4th place.

Last lap: Razgatlioglu wins ahead of Bautista and Rea. Bassani in fifth, Redding in sixth. King earns his first championship point.

World Superbike Championship result: Mandalika, race 2
Pos Driver Motorcycle time
1. Toprak Razgatlioglu Yamaha
2. Alvaro Bautista Ducati + 1230 sec
3. Jonathan Rea Kawasaki + 2,825
4. Andrea Locatelli Yamaha + 7,595
5. Axel Bassani Ducati + 8.205
6. Scott Redding BMW + 12,478
7. xavi virgin Honda + 15,245
8. Garrett Gerloff Yamaha + 17,574
9. Alex Lowes Kawasaki + 17,976
10. Michael Rinaldi Ducati + 19,698
11. Xavi Fores Ducati + 21,980
12. Michael v. Mark BMW + 22,218
13. Loris Baz BMW + 36 192
14. Hafizh Syahrin Honda + 41 465
15. Oliver King Kawasaki + 44 142
16. Eugene Laverty BMW + 45,600
17. Leandro Mercado Honda + 50,490
out Kyle Smith Kawasaki
out About Nozan Yamaha
2022 Superbike World Championship standings after 33 of 36 races
Pos Driver Motorcycle Points
1. Alvaro Bautista Ducati 553
2. Toprak Razgatlioglu Yamaha 487
3. Jonathan Rea Kawasaki 450
4. Michael Rinaldi Ducati 279
5. Andrea Locatelli Yamaha 244
6. Axel Bassani Ducati 241
7. Alex Lowes Kawasaki 224
8. Scott Redding BMW 190
9. Iker Lecuona Honda 189
10. xavi virgin Honda 154
11. Garrett Gerloff Yamaha 129
12. Loris Baz BMW 112
13. Philipp Oettl Ducati 77
14. Lucas Mahias Kawasaki 56
15. Michael v. Mark BMW 40
16. Roberto Tamburini Yamaha 38
17. Luca Bernardi Ducati 36
18. Eugene Laverty BMW 35
19. Xavi Fores Ducati 29
20. About Nozan Yamaha 15
21. Ilja Michalcik BMW 10
22. Christophe Ponsson Yamaha 9
23. Leon Haslam Kawasaki 7
24. Hafizh Syahrin Honda 6
25. Tarran Mackenzie Yamaha 3
26. Peter Hickman BMW 2
27. Leandro Mercado Honda 2
28. Jake Gaines Yamaha 1
29. Oliver King Kawasaki 1

Leave a Comment